Do you need to save each time a tag is applied, or does the program automatically save the tags?

You do need to save each time you add tags using the save button just below the tag box. If you're wanting to add a tag to an order or a product, you'll want to hit save after you've added the tag. If you're adding a tag to a person, there is a "Submit Tag" button right uder where you've added the tag.